The Kasa Matter Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, 15A/1800W, 2-Pack is my best overall pick for combining power tracking with Matter compatibility and a clear path into a multi-platform smart home. For a straightforward Wi-Fi option, the Tapo P115 balances monitoring and everyday control, while Emporia’s four-pack suits buyers who want to track several appliances. The main tradeoffs are ecosystem support, the number of plugs you need, and whether you want app-based energy history or broader home integration. Pack sizes and product variants also matter: similarly named two- and four-packs can change the fit for a whole-home project. Read on for the full breakdown of where each of the 11 options stands out and who should skip it.
Get home appliances delivered free — and shop member deals
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Access to Prime Big Deal Days deals on October 6–7
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
Complete the kit
Key Takeaways
- Matter support separates the Kasa and Tapo P110M picks from Wi-Fi-focused alternatives when buyers want compatibility across supported smart-home platforms.
- Pack size shapes value and coverage: the lineup includes two- and four-packs, so a lower unit count may suit one appliance while larger packs fit multi-room tracking.
- Kasa KP115 and Tapo P115 favor familiar Wi-Fi setup, while Matter models are better suited to buyers who prioritize platform flexibility.
- Emporia and Govee offer four-plug options for monitoring multiple devices, but buyers should check app and ecosystem fit before choosing by pack size alone.
- Energy monitoring is only useful when its data answers a question: check whether you need simple usage visibility, appliance comparisons, or smart-home automation tied to power use.
| smart plugs with energy monitoring | Connectivity | Pack size | Operating voltage | Maximum wattage |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AiSeek Smart Plug with Energy | 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, Bluetooth | 4 plugs | 120 V | — |
| THIRDREALITY Smart Plug Gen3 | Zigbee 3.0 | 4 plugs | 110 V | — |
| Emporia Energy Monitoring Smar | 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi; 5 GHz Wi-Fi not supported | 4 smart plugs | — | 1200 W |
| Kasa Matter Smart Plug with En | Matter, Wi-Fi, SmartThings | 2 plugs | 120 V | — |
| Kasa Smart Plug Mini with Ener | 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi | — | 120 V AC | 1800 W |
| Tapo P115 Smart Wi-Fi Plug wit | 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi | — | 125 V | 1800 W |
| Govee Smart Plug with Energy M | Wi-Fi and Bluetooth; Wi-Fi is 2.4 GHz only | 4 plugs | 120 V | 1800 W |
| Tapo P110M Matter Smart Plug w | Matter and 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi | — | — | 1800 W |
| Kasa Matter Smart Plug with En | Matter and 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi | 4 plugs | 120 V | 1800 W |
| Tapo P110M Matter Smart Plugs | Matter and 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi | 2 plugs | — | 1800 W |
| Tapo P115 Smart Wi-Fi Plug wit | 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi | 4 plugs | 110 V AC | 1800 W |
More Details on Our Top Picks
AiSeek Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, 15A, 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, 4-Pack
The AiSeek four-pack suits buyers who want energy readings and everyday automation across several outlets without adding a hub. Its SmartLife app provides real-time monitoring, schedules, timers, and group control, while Alexa and Google Assistant support makes voice control straightforward once setup is complete. Compared with the THIRDREALITY Smart Plug Gen3, AiSeek connects directly over Wi-Fi rather than requiring a Zigbee hub, though it lacks that model’s stated monitoring accuracy and mesh-repeater role. The tradeoff is a 2.4 GHz-only setup and an extra linking step: configure each plug in SmartLife before connecting a voice assistant. At 1800 W maximum, it offers more stated capacity than the Emporia plug’s 1200 W rating, but buyers should still check their appliance’s load.
Pros:- Real-time energy monitoring with SmartLife and Tuya app compatibility
- Schedules, timers, group control, and remote operation
- Works with Amazon Alexa and Google Assistant
- Four-plug pack with overload and short-circuit protection
Cons:- Requires a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi connection
- Must be set up in SmartLife before linking Alexa or Google Assistant
- No stated energy-monitoring accuracy figure
Best for: Households that want four app-controlled, energy-monitoring plugs and use Alexa or Google Assistant without a separate smart-home hub.
Not ideal for: Buyers whose network uses only 5 GHz Wi-Fi, or those who want Zigbee mesh expansion and a stated monitoring accuracy figure.
- Pack size:4 plugs
- Maximum power:1800 W
- Operating voltage:120 V
- Connectivity:2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, Bluetooth
- App compatibility:SmartLife, Tuya
- Voice assistants:Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant
- Dimensions:1.4 x 2.8 x 2 inches
- Warranty:2 years
Our verdict“Choose AiSeek for a four-plug Wi-Fi setup with energy tracking and automation, provided its 2.4 GHz setup and app-linking steps suit your home.”
THIRDREALITY Smart Plug Gen3, 4-Pack
The THIRDREALITY Gen3 is the lineup’s hub-dependent choice, pairing energy monitoring with a useful Zigbee 3.0 repeater. Its stated ±1% monitoring accuracy gives buyers a concrete specification to compare, and the plugs can help extend a compatible Zigbee mesh while controlling connected devices. That makes this four-pack more appealing for an established hub-based setup than the AiSeek Smart Plug, which connects over Wi-Fi and needs no hub. The tradeoff is the added hub requirement; buyers starting from scratch may find AiSeek or the Kasa KP115 simpler to set up. THIRDREALITY also lists power-on status restoration only for select platforms, so households relying on a consistent restart state should check compatibility before choosing it.
Pros:- Stated power-monitoring accuracy of ±1%
- Zigbee 3.0 repeater can extend compatible mesh coverage
- Works with a range of compatible hubs and platforms
- Compact plug-in design helps preserve access to adjacent outlets
Cons:- Requires a compatible Zigbee hub
- Power-on status restoration is available only on select platforms
- One-year warranty is shorter than the two-year warranties listed for AiSeek and Kasa KP115
Best for: Smart-home owners with a compatible Zigbee hub who want device-level energy readings and additional mesh coverage from their plugs.
Not ideal for: Beginners without a Zigbee hub, or buyers who need power-on status restoration across all platforms.
- Pack size:4 plugs
- Connectivity:Zigbee 3.0
- Operating voltage:110 V
- Power-monitoring accuracy:±1%
- Hub required:Yes
- Control methods:Remote, voice
- Certifications:ETL certified; FCC compliant
- Warranty:1 year
Our verdict“Pick THIRDREALITY if you already run a compatible Zigbee hub and value its stated monitoring accuracy and repeater function more than hub-free setup.”
Emporia Energy Monitoring Smart Plugs, 4-Pack
The Emporia four-pack is a practical fit for buyers who want energy tracking, schedules, and remote control in one app, especially if they already use Emporia products. It supports Alexa and Google Assistant, but its 1200 W rating and 10 A continuous-load limit are more restrictive than the 1800 W maximum listed for the AiSeek and Kasa KP115 plugs. That difference matters when matching a plug to an appliance: check both the device’s load and the plug’s limits rather than assuming every outlet is suitable. Emporia offers app, voice, push-button, and touch control, giving it more listed control methods than the Kasa KP115. In return, it requires 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and carries a one-year warranty, so it is less compelling for buyers seeking broader load capacity or a longer stated warranty.
Pros:- Energy monitoring and scheduling through the Emporia app
- Remote, app, touch, push-button, and voice control methods are listed
- Compatible with Amazon Alexa and Google Assistant
- Four plugs included, with ETL and FCC certifications
Cons:- 1200 W maximum is lower than the 1800 W ratings listed for AiSeek and Kasa KP115
- Continuous load is limited to 10 A
- Requires 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and has a one-year warranty
Best for: Existing Emporia app users who want a four-pack for monitoring and scheduling lower-load devices such as lights and fans.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a plug rated above 1200 W or 10 A continuous, or who rely on 5 GHz Wi-Fi.
- Pack size:4 smart plugs
- Voltage:120 V
- Maximum wattage:1200 W
- Continuous load:10 A
- Connectivity:2.4 GHz Wi-Fi; 5 GHz Wi-Fi not supported
- Compatibility:Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant, Android, iOS
- Dimensions:1.97 x 3.31 x 1.5 inches
- Warranty:1 year
Our verdict“Choose Emporia for app-based tracking and flexible controls on lower-load devices, but select AiSeek or Kasa KP115 if you need a stated 1800 W maximum.”
Kasa Matter Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, 15A/1800W, 2-Pack
The Kasa Matter plug earns its place for homes that use more than one smart-home platform. Matter support spans Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, and SmartThings, while local network control can keep control available when internet access is down. Its energy monitoring adds a way to track connected devices without giving up that cross-platform flexibility. Compared with the Kasa KP115, this model’s clearest distinction is Matter and its wider listed platform support; the KP115 is a simpler Wi-Fi option with a child safety cover. The tradeoff is that this pack includes only two plugs, and it still requires 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi. Its 15 A/1800 W limit is clearly specified, so buyers should match that ceiling to the appliance rather than treating the plug as suitable for every high-load device.
Pros:- Matter support across Apple Home, Amazon Alexa, Google Home, and SmartThings
- Local network control can work when internet access is unavailable
- Energy monitoring through app or voice control
- UL-certified flame-retardant design and two-year limited warranty
Cons:- Two plugs are included, fewer than the four-pack options in this group
- Requires a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi network
- Maximum load is limited to 15 A/1800 W
Best for: Households using Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, or SmartThings that want Matter-based control and energy monitoring across platforms.
Not ideal for: Buyers who want four plugs in one pack, need 5 GHz Wi-Fi, or require a plug rated above 15 A/1800 W.
- Model:KP125MP2
- Pack size:2 plugs
- Maximum current:15 A
- Maximum power:1800 W
- Operating voltage:120 V
- Connectivity:Matter, Wi-Fi, SmartThings
- Wi-Fi band:2.4 GHz
- Warranty:2-year limited
Our verdict“Choose this Kasa model for Matter and local control across a mixed-platform home; choose AiSeek instead if you need four plugs in the pack.”
Kasa Smart Plug Mini with Energy Monitoring (KP115)
The Kasa KP115 is the straightforward pick for someone who needs one plug to monitor and schedule an appliance, rather than a multi-pack for a whole room. It connects directly to 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi without a hub, and works with Alexa and Google Assistant for remote or voice control. Its overheating protection and child safety cover give it a stated safety feature set that distinguishes it from the AiSeek listing, which instead calls out overload and short-circuit protection. Both offer a 1800 W maximum and two-year warranty, but AiSeek supplies four plugs and group control, making it the better fit for broader coverage. The KP115’s main limitation is its single-plug focus, along with the familiar 2.4 GHz requirement; it does not offer Matter platform support like the Kasa KP125MP2.
Pros:- Energy monitoring with schedules and timers through the Kasa app
- Remote and voice control via Amazon Alexa and Google Assistant
- Overheating protection and a child safety cover
- UL certification and a two-year warranty
Cons:- Requires a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi connection
- Single-plug format is less suited to covering several outlets than AiSeek’s four-pack
- Does not list Matter compatibility like the Kasa KP125MP2
Best for: Buyers who want a single no-hub plug to monitor and schedule one appliance, with Alexa or Google Assistant control.
Not ideal for: Households outfitting several outlets at once, or buyers who need Matter compatibility or 5 GHz Wi-Fi.
- Model:KP115
- Connectivity:2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
- Operating voltage:120 V AC
- Maximum wattage:1800 W
- Dimensions:2.62 x 1.57 x 1.5 inches
- Energy monitoring:Yes
- Safety certification:UL
- Warranty:2 years
Our verdict“Choose the KP115 for one monitored appliance and simple Wi-Fi control; opt for AiSeek for multi-outlet coverage or the KP125MP2 for Matter support.”
Tapo P115 Smart Wi-Fi Plug with Energy Monitoring, 2-Pack, 15A
The Tapo P115 two-pack suits buyers who want energy tracking in a small setup without giving up access to nearby outlets. Its usage statistics and charts make it easier to spot which connected devices draw power, while schedules and automatic shutoff add everyday control. Compared with the four-plug Govee H5086 pack, this gives you fewer outlets to equip, but its compact design is a practical fit where plugs sit close together. The tradeoff is a more limited smart-home setup: it works over 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and app-based control runs through Tapo, rather than offering Matter compatibility like the Tapo P110M. I’d choose it for a couple of appliances, not a household seeking a shared multi-platform energy-monitoring system.
Pros:- Energy statistics and charts help compare connected-device use.
- Compact body helps preserve access to adjacent outlets.
- Supports scheduling, remote control, voice control, and automatic shutoff.
- Works with Alexa and Google Assistant.
Cons:- Only supports 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi.
- App-based control requires the Tapo app.
- Two plugs cover fewer appliances than four-plug options such as Govee H5086.
Best for: Buyers monitoring a couple of appliances who need compact plugs that leave neighboring outlets usable.
Not ideal for: Households building a Matter-based smart home or monitoring many devices at once; the two-plug pack and Tapo app requirement may be limiting.
- Model:P115
- Pack quantity:2 plugs
- Operating voltage:125 V
- Maximum wattage:1800 W
- Connectivity:2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
- Compatible assistants:Alexa and Google Assistant
- Control:Tapo app, voice, and remote control
- Certifications:ETL, FCC, RoHS
Our verdict“Choose the Tapo P115 if you want energy monitoring for two appliances in a compact, Alexa- or Google-friendly setup.”
Govee Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, Wi-Fi and Bluetooth, 4-Pack
The Govee H5086 four-pack stands out for buyers who want more than a simple current-use readout: it tracks power, current, and voltage, with historical data available for up to a year. That longer record can help reveal recurring patterns across appliances, and group control makes four plugs easier to manage together. Compared with the Tapo P115 two-pack, Govee covers more outlets and offers more kinds of electrical readings; compared with the Matter-ready Tapo P110M, it does not list broad Matter platform support. It uses 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, with Bluetooth also included, and smart features depend on Govee Home. I’d pick it for monitoring several devices in one app, but skip it if platform flexibility matters more than detailed history.
Pros:- Tracks power, current, and voltage.
- Provides historical energy data for up to one year.
- Four plugs, schedules, and group controls suit multi-appliance setups.
- Supports Alexa and Google Assistant voice control.
Cons:- Does not support 5 GHz Wi-Fi.
- Smart features require the Govee Home app.
- Does not list Matter compatibility like the Tapo P110M and Kasa KP125MP4.
Best for: People tracking several appliances who want power, current, voltage, and a long history in one app.
Not ideal for: Matter-focused households or buyers who want smart features without relying on the Govee Home app; it also does not support 5 GHz Wi-Fi.
- Model:H5086
- Pack size:4 plugs
- Maximum current:15 A
- Operating voltage:120 V
- Maximum wattage:1800 W
- Connectivity:Wi-Fi and Bluetooth; Wi-Fi is 2.4 GHz only
- Compatible assistants:Amazon Alexa and Google Assistant
- Certifications:ETL and FCC
Our verdict“Choose Govee if detailed electrical readings and a year of history matter more than Matter-based platform integration.”
Tapo P110M Matter Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, 4-Pack, 15A
For a home spanning several smart-home ecosystems, the Tapo P110M four-pack combines energy monitoring with Matter support and compatibility with Alexa, Apple HomeKit, Google Home, and SmartThings. That broad reach is its main distinction from the Govee H5086, which provides more detailed electrical readings and year-long history but lists fewer voice platforms. The P110M also offers power thresholds, giving buyers a way to set consumption limits alongside schedules and remote control. Four plugs make it easier to monitor several appliances without mixing product lines. The main compromise is that it relies on 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, and the provided specifications do not detail the depth or duration of its energy history. I’d favor it for platform flexibility over advanced reporting.
Pros:- Matter and compatibility with four major smart-home platforms.
- Energy tracking and usage statistics across a four-plug pack.
- Power thresholds, scheduling, and remote control support more tailored operation.
- Compact design helps keep neighboring outlets accessible.
Cons:- Supports 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only.
- The listed specifications do not state a history-retention period or detailed electrical readings.
- Its four-plug pack may be more than needed for buyers monitoring only one or two devices.
Best for: Households using a mix of Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, or SmartThings that want energy monitoring across several devices.
Not ideal for: Buyers who prioritize detailed electrical measurements or a specified long-term data archive; Govee H5086 lists power, current, voltage, and up to one year of history.
- Model:P110M
- Pack quantity:4 plugs
- Maximum wattage:1800 W
- Connectivity:Matter and 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
- Compatible platforms:Amazon Alexa, Apple HomeKit, Google Home, Samsung SmartThings
- Control methods:App, voice, and scheduling
- Operation mode:Automatic
- Certification:UL Certified
Our verdict“Choose the Tapo P110M four-pack for broad Matter-based compatibility and energy monitoring across multiple appliances.”
Kasa Matter Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, 4-Pack
The Kasa KP125MP4 is a strong fit when energy monitoring needs to sit inside a Matter-based home that should keep working locally when internet access drops. It tracks power use over time and supports Apple Home, Alexa, Google Assistant, and SmartThings, pairing broad compatibility with a four-plug pack. Compared with the Tapo P110M, it also specifies local Matter control during an internet outage and includes a two-year limited warranty. The tradeoff is a defined 15 A, 1800 W ceiling, so it is intended for compatible household devices rather than higher-load equipment. Like the Tapo and Govee options here, it requires 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi. I’d put it ahead of the Tapo P110M when local control and the stated warranty matter most, but not for buyers seeking richer energy-history details.
Pros:- Matter enables local network control when the internet is offline.
- Energy monitoring tracks power use over time.
- Works with Apple Home, Alexa, Google Assistant, and SmartThings.
- Includes a two-year limited warranty and a compact design.
Cons:- Maximum load is 15 A and 1800 W.
- Requires 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi.
- The listed details do not specify the duration or granularity of energy history.
Best for: Matter users who want local control during internet outages, energy tracking, and four plugs for a range of household devices.
Not ideal for: Buyers needing support beyond a 15 A, 1800 W maximum load or detailed energy-history features not specified in the product data.
- Model:KP125MP4
- Pack size:4 plugs
- Maximum wattage:1800 W
- Operating voltage:120 V
- Connectivity:Matter and 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
- Compatible platforms:Apple Home, Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant, Samsung SmartThings
- Safety certification:UL certified
- Warranty:2-year limited warranty
Our verdict“Choose the Kasa KP125MP4 if local Matter control during internet outages is a priority alongside energy monitoring.”
Tapo P110M Matter Smart Plugs with Energy Monitoring, 2-Pack, 15A
The Tapo P110M two-pack gives buyers a smaller entry into Matter-based energy monitoring without committing to four plugs. It supports Apple HomeKit, Alexa, Google Home, and SmartThings, plus schedules, remote control, and power thresholds. That makes it more flexible across platforms than the Tapo P115, which supports Alexa and Google Assistant but does not list Matter. Compared with the four-pack version of the P110M, this set suits a focused setup—say, two appliances whose usage you want to track—rather than monitoring a whole room. Its 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi requirement is the main connectivity limitation, and its product data does not specify the depth of energy-history reporting. I’d choose it for a compact Matter setup, while the four-pack is the better match for wider coverage.
Pros:- Matter compatibility spans four major smart-home platforms.
- Tracks energy use and provides usage statistics.
- Supports scheduling, remote control, voice commands, and power thresholds.
- Compact design helps avoid blocking neighboring outlets.
Cons:- Supports 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only.
- Two plugs provide less coverage than the four-pack Tapo P110M.
- The listed specifications do not state how long energy data is retained.
Best for: Smart-home owners who want to monitor two appliances and connect them to Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, or SmartThings.
Not ideal for: Buyers outfitting several rooms or needing specified long-term energy-history details; the four-pack P110M covers more outlets.
- Model:P110M
- Pack size:2 plugs
- Maximum wattage:1800 W
- Connectivity:Matter and 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
- Compatible platforms:Amazon Alexa, Apple HomeKit, Google Home, Samsung SmartThings
- Control methods:App, voice, and toggle
- Operation mode:Automatic
- Certification:UL Certified
Our verdict“Choose this Tapo P110M set if you want Matter-compatible energy monitoring for two appliances rather than a larger whole-home setup.”
Tapo P115 Smart Wi-Fi Plug with Energy Monitoring, 4-Pack, 15A
I’d choose this four-pack when I want to track and control several appliances without buying plugs one at a time. The Tapo app’s energy statistics and charts make usage easier to review, while scheduling, smart charging, and automatic shutoff add practical ways to manage connected devices. At 1800W maximum per plug, it matches the stated capacity of the Kasa Matter Smart Plug options, but this P115 uses 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi rather than Matter. That makes it a better fit for buyers already comfortable with Tapo’s app and supported voice assistants than for households prioritizing Matter compatibility. Its compact design can leave adjacent outlet space usable, though the single-band Wi-Fi requirement may rule it out for networks or setups that call for another connection type.
Pros:- Energy statistics and charts help track connected-device consumption.
- Four plugs support monitoring multiple appliances from one pack.
- Works with the Tapo app, Alexa, Google Assistant, and SmartThings.
- Scheduling, smart charging, and automatic shutoff offer flexible control.
Cons:- Requires 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi.
- Does not list Matter support, unlike the Tapo P110M and Kasa Matter models.
Best for: Households that want energy charts and remote or voice control for several everyday appliances through Tapo, Alexa, Google Assistant, or SmartThings.
Not ideal for: Buyers who require Matter compatibility or cannot connect smart devices to a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi network.
- Model:Tapo P115
- Pack size:4 plugs
- Operating voltage:110 V AC
- Maximum wattage:1800 W
- Connectivity:2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
- Control methods:Tapo app, Alexa, Google Assistant, SmartThings
- Certifications:ETL, FCC, RoHS
Our verdict“Choose this pack if you want Tapo-based energy monitoring for several devices; pick a Matter model if cross-platform Matter support matters more.”

How We Picked
I ranked these smart plugs with energy monitoring by how well their monitoring, connectivity, and pack options match real household needs. I gave weight to power capacity, supported connection types, platform flexibility, and outlet-friendly design, since a plug that cannot fit beside another adapter or join the buyer’s preferred system is a poor monitoring tool regardless of its app features. I also compared whether each option makes sense for tracking one appliance or outfitting several.
The ordering favors products that offer a useful balance of monitoring and everyday usability, then separates Wi-Fi simplicity from Matter flexibility and multi-plug coverage. Similar products appear in different pack sizes, so I treated pack choice as a meaningful buying decision rather than a cosmetic variation. I did not assume identical apps, integrations, or data features across brands; buyers should confirm current compatibility and monitoring details for their specific setup before purchasing.
Factors to Consider When Choosing Smart Plugs With Energy Monitoring
Choosing a monitoring plug is less about collecting the most data and more about matching the data and connection to the job. I would decide what appliance to track, which smart-home platform needs access, and how many outlets must be covered before comparing packs.
Set Expectations for Monitoring and Automation
Energy readings can help reveal patterns, but they do not automatically explain why an appliance used a particular amount of power. Treat changes as signals to investigate rather than definitive diagnoses of appliance health or household costs. If you want automation based on power use, verify that the plug and chosen platform support the specific trigger or routine you have in mind. Some buyers only need a history they can check manually; others want device control integrated into scenes and schedules. More integrations can add flexibility but may also mean more setup and troubleshooting. Pick the simplest feature set that can answer your question reliably.
Frequently Asked Questions
Should I choose a Matter smart plug or a Wi-Fi-only model?
Choose Matter if you want a plug to join a supported smart-home platform beyond the manufacturer’s own app, or if cross-platform control is part of your setup. A Wi-Fi-only model can be a more direct fit when you are happy using one brand’s app and do not need broader integration. Do not assume Matter exposes every energy-monitoring feature in every platform; confirm which readings and controls are supported where you will use them. Also check whether the plug needs a hub or specific network setup. The right choice depends on how you plan to view energy data, not just how you plan to switch the appliance on and off.
Can one of these plugs tell me exactly how much an appliance costs to run?
A monitoring plug can provide electricity-use readings, but a cost estimate depends on how the app presents the data and whether you can enter an accurate electricity rate. Utility rates may vary by time, location, or billing plan, so a simple estimate may not match your bill. Check the app’s cost and history options before buying if cost tracking is your main goal. Readings can still help compare two appliances or spot changes in usage, even without an exact bill calculation. For a reliable estimate, use the correct local rate and treat the result as an approximation.
Is a four-pack a better choice than a two-pack for monitoring several appliances?
A four-pack can cover more devices at once, but it only makes sense if all the plugs suit your outlets, network, and preferred app. The roundup includes both two- and four-pack versions of some product families, so compare the precise model rather than assuming the variants work identically. If you are new to a brand or unsure how its energy reports are presented, starting with fewer plugs can limit setup friction. For a planned set of appliances, count the outlets and check their locations before choosing a pack. Unused plugs do not add useful monitoring just because they came in a larger bundle.
Can I use an energy-monitoring smart plug with a high-power appliance?
Only if the plug is rated for the appliance’s electrical load and the manufacturer allows that type of use. Several products here list a 15A or 1800W rating, but that figure should not replace checking the appliance label, startup load, and plug instructions. Some devices with motors or heating elements can have requirements that are not obvious from their everyday wattage. Do not connect a plug to equipment that exceeds its rating or use it to work around electrical safety guidance. If the load or compatibility is unclear, consult the product documentation or a qualified electrician before plugging it in.
Will energy monitoring still work if I control the plug through a different smart-home app?
It depends on the plug, the platform, and which integration you use. A Matter connection may provide convenient control while exposing a different set of energy details than the manufacturer’s app. Some buyers may need the brand app for history or setup even if they use another platform for daily switching. Check the current compatibility notes for the exact model and confirm that energy readings—not just on/off control—are available through your intended app. If detailed monitoring matters most, plan to keep access to the manufacturer’s app unless its documentation confirms otherwise.
Conclusion
For most buyers, I would start with the Kasa Matter Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, 15A/1800W, 2-Pack as the best overall balance of monitoring and platform flexibility. The AiSeek four-pack is a value-oriented choice for buyers who want several 15A Wi-Fi plugs and are comfortable checking its ecosystem fit. For a premium-leaning setup centered on broader platform support, choose a Kasa Matter four-pack; for beginners who prefer a direct Wi-Fi route, consider the Tapo P115. Buyers tracking multiple appliances can compare Emporia’s four-pack and the Tapo P110M Matter four-pack, while those already invested in Matter should favor a Matter model over a Wi-Fi-only alternative. Before ordering, confirm the exact pack, electrical rating, outlet dimensions, and where energy data will appear in your preferred app.
Cold & flu season Picks
humidifiers
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.


![[Genuine] Waterdrop PF-01A Water Filter Replacement for W...](https://m.media-amazon.com/images/I/41+5tl9EiKL._SX342_SY445_QL70_FMwebp_.jpg)











