TL;DR
Get home appliances delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
A Hunker report highlights the Cadet 4,000-watt portable electric garage heater available through Lowe’s as a mountable option for heating a work area. The unit is rated to produce more than 13,500 BTUs, but requires a 240-volt, 20-amp electrical outlet, and its suitability depends on insulation, air leakage and safe installation.
A Hunker report has highlighted the Cadet 4,000-watt portable electric garage heater sold through Lowe’s as a way to heat a garage work area without taking up floor space. The heater is rated to produce more than 13,500 BTUs and can be mounted on a wall or ceiling, but it requires a 240-volt, 20-amp outlet—a significant installation requirement for many homes.
The Cadet is designed to be mounted using an included bracket, keeping it off the floor while directing heat into a workspace. According to Hunker, a built-in fan delay holds off on running the fan until the heating element reaches temperature, then keeps the fan running until the element cools after shutdown. The heater also has a corrosion-resistant powder coating, an automatic temperature safety shutoff and a red light indicating an over-temperature condition.
Hunker says the heater draws 4,000 watts at about 16.7 amps. It calls for a dedicated 240-volt outlet rated for 20 amps, rather than a common household receptacle. That means buyers may need new wiring and a suitable circuit before using it. The report notes that some homes could have an unused 240-volt circuit, but says such a connection should not be assumed to be available in a garage.
The report estimates the heater can serve 400 to 600 square feet of insulated space, while cautioning that garage conditions vary. It describes garages as often having air leaks and limited insulation, factors that can reduce the practical benefit of any heater. Its stated coverage figure should not be read as a guarantee for every garage or climate.
Heating Capacity Comes With Wiring Needs
For people who use a garage as a workshop or storage area, a mounted heater could provide warmth without occupying the floor where tools, vehicles or projects sit. The Cadet’s stated output and mounting bracket make it a potential option for a defined work area, particularly where the building is insulated and the heater can be installed in a suitable location.
The electrical requirement is a central part of the decision, not a minor accessory detail. A 4,000-watt appliance needs a correctly rated circuit and receptacle; adding one can involve cost, planning and professional work. The Hunker report also warns that operating a space heater does not automatically save money. Actual running costs depend on local electricity prices, how long the heater runs and how effectively the garage retains heat.
Mounting the unit out of reach may reduce the chance of it being knocked over, but it also means the heater does not have the anti-tip feature found on some floor-standing models. Buyers should follow the manufacturer’s installation and clearance instructions and use a qualified electrician for new or altered 240-volt wiring. A mounted heater still needs appropriate placement and supervision.
Products Worth Considering

Samsung Galaxy Tab S10 FE 128GB Wi-Fi Android Tablet, Blue

LG 34GX90SA-W 34-inch Ultragear WQHD OLED Curved Gaming Monitor

Logitech MX Keys S Wireless Keyboard, Graphite
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Why Garage Conditions Matter
The product coverage described in the Hunker report assumes insulated space. Many garages are less sealed and insulated than the living areas of a home, so warm air can escape through doors, gaps and unfinished surfaces. In those conditions, the heater may have to run longer and may not maintain the same temperature that it could in a better-insulated space.
Hunker contrasts the Cadet with larger forced-air and propane heaters often used for construction or other demanding settings. That comparison is the report’s framing, not a test showing that this unit is suitable for every garage. The practical choice depends on room size, insulation, air leakage, intended use and the electrical service available.
The report also points out that garages are often unfinished or only partly finished, which can make new wiring easier to route than in a finished living room. That observation does not remove the need to comply with applicable electrical codes or obtain permits where required. Nor does it establish that a particular home’s panel has room or capacity for another circuit.
“The Cadet produces over 13,500 BTUs.”
— Hunker report
Price, Stock and Fit Remain Unclear
The source material does not provide a current Lowe’s price, stock status or product listing details, so availability may vary and should be checked directly with the retailer. It also does not include independent testing, customer feedback or a comparison of operating costs against other heating options.
The actual heated area and energy use in a particular garage remain uncertain. The report’s 400-to-600-square-foot estimate applies to insulated space; it does not specify performance in garages with substantial drafts, poor insulation or especially cold outdoor conditions. The material also does not establish whether an individual home’s electrical panel can support the required circuit.
Although the report describes safety features, it does not provide a full installation manual or all required clearances. Buyers should confirm product specifications and instructions before purchase and have a licensed electrician assess any new 240-volt wiring. Local code and permit requirements depend on the installation and location.
Check the Circuit Before Buying
Anyone considering the Cadet should first confirm the heater’s current specifications and availability with Lowe’s, then assess whether the garage’s size, insulation and intended use match the product’s stated capacity. The next practical step is checking the home’s electrical panel and existing circuits with a licensed electrician, rather than assuming an unused 240-volt connection is suitable.
If new wiring is required, the work should follow applicable codes and permit rules. After installation, the heater should be mounted and operated according to its manufacturer instructions, with required clearances maintained and the over-temperature indicator and shutoff understood. The source does not identify a further product announcement or update; the immediate decision for buyers is whether the unit’s electrical and heating requirements fit their garage.
Key Questions
How much heat does the Cadet garage heater produce?
The Hunker report says the 4,000-watt heater produces more than 13,500 BTUs. That figure is product information cited in the report, not an independent performance test.
What size area is it rated to heat?
Hunker gives an estimate of 400 to 600 square feet of insulated space. Drafts, poor insulation and other garage conditions can affect how well it heats an actual space.
What electrical connection does it need?
The report says the heater draws about 16.7 amps at 4,000 watts and requires a 240-volt outlet rated for 20 amps. A qualified electrician should confirm whether an existing circuit is appropriate or new wiring is needed.
Can it be mounted off the floor?
Yes. Hunker says the heater includes a bracket for wall or ceiling mounting. Because it is mounted, it does not have the anti-tip feature common on some floor-standing space heaters; follow the manufacturer’s placement and safety instructions.
Is the heater currently available at Lowe’s?
The source report does not state current price or stock. Check Lowe’s directly for up-to-date availability and product details.
Source: rss
